Bradford Grammar School
The earliest records dating back to 1548 show that Bradford Grammar School, sited close to the parish church, was already flourishing in the mid-sixteenth century. In 1662 the School was re-established by Royal Charter as the Free Grammar School of Charles II at Bradford, ‘for the better teaching, instruction and bringing up of children in grammar and good learning and to continue for that use forever’. The Charter is a document that we proudly display in the School today.
Over four and a half centuries of change, the aims of the School’s founders have endured. Yet during this time Bradford Grammar School has always been progressive.
BGS was the first grammar school in England to be reorganised under the Forster Act of 1869, and in the twentieth century it became one of the country’s leading direct grant schools. In 1949 the school moved to its present site at Frizinghall. The School became independent in 1975 and fully co-educational in 1999. Having occupied three locations since our establishment, the iconic building that we inhabit today was opened in 1949.
A long history of excellence inspires our pupils to fulfil their potential and make their own mark upon the future of BGS. Our School motto roughly translates as ‘get on and do it’ – symbolising our honest, straightforward and modest approach to educational excellence.
The school offers a range of interesting and exciting careers in both teaching and support areas such as Finance, IT, HR and Estates.